State Program Coordinators

Contact your state program coordinator for information about the State Teacher of the Year program.
Alabama
Ann Starks

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
5303 Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone: 334-242-9702 | Fax: 334-353-4682
astarks@alsde.edu
Website
Alaska
Atiya Barlow

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Alaska Professional Teaching Practices Commission
Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
344 West Third Avenue, Suite 127
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-6579 | Fax: 907-269-5070
atiya.barlow@alaska.gov
Website
American Samoa
Jocelyn Siologa

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
P.O.Box 6868
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 684-633-1034 | Fax: 011-684-733-2379
tineimala@yahoo.com
Arizona
Bobbie O'Boyle

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Director
Arizona Educational Foundation
6155 E. Indian School Rd., #106
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone: 480-421-9376 | Fax: NULL
bobbie@azedfoundation.org
Website
Arkansas
 TBD

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201-1071
Phone: 501-682-5169 | Fax: NULL
Website
California
Patricia McLeod

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Rearch Analyst
State Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-319-0555 | Fax: NULL
pmcleod@cde.ca.gov
Website
Colorado
Lynn Bamberry

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1450
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-866-6813 | Fax: NULL
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us
Website
Connecticut
Kimberly Audet

State Coordinator
Connecticut Teacher of the Year Program
Connecticut State Department of Education
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 201
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860-713-6829 | Fax: 860-713-7028
kimberly.audet@ct.gov
Website
Delaware
Betty Torbert

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-735-4035 | Fax: 302-739-4654
betty.torbert@doe.k12.de.us
Website
Department of Defense Education Activity
Ione Swenson

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Defense Education Activity
Professional Development/Teacher of the Year
4800 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22352
Phone: 571-372-1877 | Fax: NULL
ione.swenson@hq.dodea.edu
Website
District of Columbia
Erika Lomax

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
810 First Street, N.E. #5023C
Fifth Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-724-5239 | Fax: NULL
erika.lomax@dc.gov
Website
Florida
Bonita Hampton

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 124
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone: 850-245-0544 | Fax: NULL
bonita.hampton@fldoe.org
Website
Georgia
Keisha Ford-Jenrette

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Associate, Excellence Recognition
Georgia Department of Education
2070 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: 404-657-2949 | Fax: 404-657-2988
kford@doe.k12.ga.us
Website
Guam
Erica Cruz

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Deputy Superintendent
Department of Education
Educational Support & Community Learning
PO Box DE
Hagatna, GU 96932
Phone: 671-300-1631 | Fax: NULL
ercruz@gdoe.net
Hawaii
Chastity Dezzani

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
DOE-Employment Benefits Unit
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2360
Honolulu, HI 96804
Phone: 808-586-3246 | Fax: 808-586-3247
Chasity_Dezzani@notes.k12.hi.us
Website
Hawaii
Jeanetta Ma

Acting WC, Health Benefits and Awards Section Administrator, Office of Human Resources
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2360
Honolulu, HI 96804
Phone: 808-587-4080 | Fax: 808-587-4092
jeanetta_ma@notes.k12.hi.us
Idaho
Portia Flynn

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Office of the Superintendent
650 West State Street
Post Office Box 83702
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Phone: 208-332-6812 | Fax: 208-334-2228
pflynn@sde.idaho.gov
Illinois
Ann Muraro-Lacopo

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
Phone: 217-782-4648 | Fax: 217-524-8585
amuraro@isbe.net
Indiana
Sarah Pies

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Educator Effectiveness Specialist
Indiana Department of Education
115 West Washington Street
South Tower
Suite 600
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-232-6989 | Fax: NULL
spies@doe.in.gov
Website
Iowa
Isbelia Arzola

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Program Consultant
State Department of Education
400 East 14th Street
GrimesState Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: 515-281-3954 | Fax: 515-326-5962
Isbelia.Arzola@iowa.gov
Website
Kansas
Sherry Bukovatz

Teacher of the Year Co-coordinator
State Department of Education
120 Southeast Tenth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Phone: 785-296-2551 | Fax: 785-296-7933
sbukoivatz@ksde.org
Website
Kansas
Kathy Toelkes

Teacher of the Year Co-coordinator
Director, Communications & Rocognition Programs
State Department of Education
120 Southeast Tenth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Phone: 785-296-4876 | Fax: 785-296-7933
ktoelkes@ksde.org
Website
Kentucky
Donna Melton

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Consultant
State Department of Education
500 Mero Street - 19th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-564-3421 | Fax: 502-564-6470
dmelton@kde.state.ky.us
Website
Louisiana
Annie Morrison

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Compass Project Director
Louisiana Department of Education
Office of Workforce Talent
1201 North 3rd Street
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-219-4529 | Fax: 225-342-7367
Annie.Morrison@la.gov
Website
Maine
Dolly Sullivan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Director
Educate Maine
15 Monument Squar
Suite 3E
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: 207-631-3385 | Fax: NULL
dolly@educatemaine.org
Website
Maryland
Darla Strouse

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Partnerships, Research & Development
State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-0369 | Fax: 410-333-2226
dstrouse@msde.state.md.us
Website
Massachusetts
Deborah Walker

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Educator Recognition Programs
State Department of Education
75 Pleasant Street
Malden, MA 02148
Phone: 781-338-3347 | Fax: 781-338-3396
djwalker@doe.mass.edu
Website
Michigan
Barbara Fardell

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Manager, Educational Technology
Michigan Department of Education
Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-335-1291 | Fax: 517-335-4575
FardellB@michigan.gov
Website
Minnesota
Doug Dooher

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Minnesota
41 Sherburne Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55103-6969
Phone: 651-292-4816 | Fax: 651-292-4868
douglas.dooher@educationminnesota.org
Website
Mississippi
Daphne Buckley

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinators
State Department of Education
Mississippi Teacher Center
Suite 145
359 Northwest Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-3631 | Fax: 601-359-1728
dbuckley@mde.k12.ms.us
Website
Mississippi
Cecily McNair

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinators
State Department of Education
Mississippi Teacher Center
Suite 145
359 Northwest Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-3631 | Fax: 601-359-1728
cmcnair@mde.k12.ms.us
Website
Missouri
Linda Dooling

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director of Educator Development
Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
Post Office Box 480
Jefferson State Office Building
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480
Phone: 573-526-6650 | Fax: 573-522-6526
linda.dooling@dese.mo.gov
Website
Montana
Donna Graveley

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Montana Education Association
1232 East Sixth Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: 406-442-4250 | Fax: 406-443-5081
DGraveley@mea-mft.org
Website
Nebraska
Lora Sypal

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 94987
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
Phone: 402-471-5059 | Fax: 402-471-4433
lora.sypal@nebraska.gov
Website
Nevada
Laurie Thake

Teacher of the Year Program Coordinator
State Department of Education
Office of the Deputy Superintendent
700 East Fifth Street, Suite 100
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: 775-687-9224 | Fax: 775-687-9202
lthake@doe.nv.gov
Website
New Hampshire
Lori Temple

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
State Office Park South
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-8315 | Fax: 603-271-6646
ltemple@ed.state.nh.us
Website
New Jersey
Nancy Besant

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Program Specialist
State Department of Education
P.O. Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
Phone: 609-984-6314 | Fax: 609-292-7276
nancy.besant@doe.state.nj.us
Website
New Mexico
Yolanda Valencia

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
New Mexico Department of Education
444 Galisto, Suite A
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: 505-827-3535 | Fax: NULL
yolanda.valencia@state.nm.us
Website
New York
Stephanie Wood-Garnett

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Assistant Commissioner, Teacher and Leader Effectiveness
New York State Department of Education
Office of Higher Education
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: 518-486-3633 | Fax: NULL
SWOODGAR@MAIL.NYSED.GOV
Website
North Carolina
Yvette Stewart

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Assistant Director, Educator Effectiveness
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6330 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6330
Phone: 919-807-3375 | Fax: 919-807-3362
yvette.stewart@dpi.nc.gov
Website
North Dakota
Pat Laubach

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58501-0440
Phone: 701-328-4525 | Fax: 701-328-4770
plaubach@nd.gov
Website
Northern Mariana Islands
Lucretia Borja

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Post Office Box 1370
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-237-3059 | Fax: 670-664-3798
lucretia.borja@cnmipss.org
Ohio
Patricia Griffin

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Coordinator of Award Programs
Ohio Department of Education
Office of Educator Equity and Talent
25 South Front Street, Mail Stop 501
Columbus, OH 43215-4183
Phone: 614-995-3735 | Fax: 614-752-8406
patty.griffin@ode.state.oh.us
Website
Oklahoma
Ashley Hahn

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Events Coordinator, Administrative Services
State Department of Education
Hodge Education Building
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Room 1-12
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
Phone: 405-521-4893 | Fax: 405-522-0768
Ashley.Hahn@sde.ok.gov
Website
Oregon
Kun-Yin Kwan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Assistant to Deputy Superintendent Rob Saxton
Oregon Department of Education
Public Service Building
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
Phone: 503-947-5740 | Fax: 503-378-5156
kunyin.kwan@state.or.us
Website
Pennsylvania
Marlene Kanuck

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Pennsylvania Department of Education
Teaching and Learning Support
333 Market Street, 3rd Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: 717-783-9294 | Fax: 717-783-9283
mkanuck@pa.gov
Website
Puerto Rico
Waldo Vazquez

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Post Office Box 190759
San Juan, PR 00919-0759
Phone: 787-759-8531 | Fax: 787-753-1804
torresvw@de.gobierno.pr
Rhode Island
Mary Keenan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Educator Quality & Certification Specialist
Rhode Island Department of Education
Office of Educator Quality
255 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 02903-3400
Phone: 401-222-8497 | Fax: NULL
Mary.Keenan@ride.ri.net
Website
South Carolina
Sherry Schneider

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Division of School Effectiveness
State Department of Education
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223
Phone: 803-896-0384 | Fax: NULL
sschneider@ed.sc.gov
Website
South Dakota
Lanette Johnston

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
South Dakota Department of Education
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Phone: 605-773-8415 | Fax: NULL
lanette.johnston@state.sd.us
Website
Tennessee
Johnny Crow

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Tennessee Department of Education
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-532-4724 | Fax: NULL
johnny.crow@state.tn.us
Website
Texas
Jennifer Garrido

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Texas Association of School Administrators
406 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: 512-477-6361 ext. 2116 | Fax: NULL
jgarrido@tasanet.org
Utah
Tina Morandy

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
PO BOX 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84414-4200
Phone: 801-538-7526 | Fax: 801-538-7768
tmorandy@usoe.k12.ut.us
Website
Vermont
Angela Ross

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Public Information Officer
Agency of Education
219 North Main Street
Suite 402, Barre City Place
Barre, VT 05641
Phone: 802-479-1240 | Fax: 802-595-5819
Angela.Ross@state.vt.us
Website
Virgin Islands
Wynant Watty-Benjamin

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Virgin Islands Department of Education
2133 Hospital Street
Christiansted
St. Croix, VI 00802
Phone: 340-773-1095 | Fax: 340-773-9579
wwbenjamin@doe.vi
Virginia
JoAnne Carver

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director of Teacher Education
Virginia Department of Education
Office of Teacher Education and Teacher Quality Enhancement
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
Phone: 804-371-2475 | Fax: 804-786-6759
JoAnne.Carver@doe.virginia.gov
Website
Washington
Hilary Seidel

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Public Instruction
Old Capitol Building
Post Office Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98516
Phone: 360-725-6117 | Fax: 360-586-0247
hilary.seidel@k12.wa.us
Website
West Virginia
Monica Beane

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Director, Office of Professional Preparation
West Virginia Department of Education
Division of Educators Quality & System Support
Building 6, Room 252
1900 Kanawha
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
Phone: 304-558-7010 | Fax: 304-558-7843
mbeane@access.k12.wv.us
Website
Wisconsin
Elaine Strom

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
Post Office Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Phone: 608-266-3089 | Fax: 608-264-9558
elaine.strom@dpi.wi.gov
Wyoming
Kevin Lewis

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
2301 Central Avenue
Barrett Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307-274-9589 | Fax: NULL
kevin.lewis@wyo.gov