State Program Coordinators

Contact your state program coordinator for information about the State Teacher of the Year program.
Alabama
Ann Starks

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
5303 Gordon Persons Building
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone: 334-242-9702 | Fax: 334-353-4682
astarks@alsde.edu
Website
Alaska
Cecilia Miller

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Alaska Department of Education
Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suit 200
Juneau, AK 99811
Phone: 907-465-8703 | Fax: 907-269-5070
cecilia.miller@alaska.gov
Website
American Samoa
Roberta Ripley

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of Curriculum & Instruction
Department of Education
P.O.Box 1149
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 684-699-6516 | Fax: 684-699-6442
ripleyre@hotmail.com
Arizona
Bobbie O'Boyle

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Director
Arizona Educational Foundation
6155 E. Indian School Rd., #106
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone: 480-421-9376 | Fax: NULL
bobbie@azedfoundation.org
Website
Arkansas
John Kaminar

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Special Projects Manager
State Department of Education
Four Capitol Mall
Room 403-A
Little Rock, AR 72201-1071
Phone: 501-683-5188 | Fax: 501-683-4097
john.kaminar@arkansas.gov
Website
California
Patricia McLeod

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Rearch Analyst
State Department of Education
1430 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-319-0555 | Fax: NULL
pmcleod@cde.ca.gov
Website
Colorado
Lynn Bamberry

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1450
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-866-6813 | Fax: NULL
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us
Website
Connecticut
Kim Wachtelhausen

Teacher of the Year Program Coordinator
Talent Office, Bureau of Leadership Development, Equity and Excellence
Connecticut State Department of Education
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 201
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860-713-6841 | Fax: 860-713-7028
kim.wachtelhausen@ct.gov
Website
Delaware
Betty Torbert

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-735-4035 | Fax: 302-739-4654
betty.torbert@doe.k12.de.us
Website
Department of Defense Education Activity
Linda Beaulieu

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Defense Education Activity
Professional Development/Teacher of the Year
4800 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22352
Phone: 571-372-1871 | Fax: NULL
Linda.Beaulieu@hq.dodea.edu
Website
District of Columbia
Tasha Jones

Staff Assistant
Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Division of Teaching and Learning
810 First Street, NE, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-724-7878 | Fax: NULL
tasha.jones@dc.gov
Website
Florida
Bonita Hampton

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 124
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone: 850-245-0544 | Fax: NULL
bonita.hampton@fldoe.org
Website
Georgia
Keisha Ford-Jenrette

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Associate, Excellence Recognition
Georgia Department of Education
2070 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: 404-657-2949 | Fax: 404-657-2988
kford@doe.k12.ga.us
Website
Guam
Erica Cruz

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Deputy Superintendent
Department of Education
Educational Support & Community Learning
PO Box DE
Hagatna, GU 96932
Phone: 671-300-1631 | Fax: NULL
ercruz@gdoe.net
Hawaii
Eryn NULL

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2360
Honolulu, HI 96804
Phone: 808-441-8320 | Fax: 808-586-3419
eryn_lau@notes.k12.hi.us
Hawaii
Chastity Dezzani

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
DOE-Employment Benefits Unit
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 2360
Honolulu, HI 96804
Phone: 808-586-3246 | Fax: 808-586-3247
Chasity_Dezzani@notes.k12.hi.us
Website
Idaho
JoAnn Bujarski

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
650 West State Street
Post Office Box 83702
Boise, ID 83720-0027
Phone: 208-332-6812 | Fax: 208-334-2228
jbujarski@sde.idaho.gov
Illinois
Ann Muraro-Lacopo

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777-0001
Phone: 217-782-4648 | Fax: 217-524-8585
amuraro@isbe.net
Indiana
Chris Kates

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Educator Effectiveness Specialist
Indiana Department of Education
115 West Washington Street
South Tower
Suite 600
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-232-6989 | Fax: NULL
ckates@doe.in.gov
Website
Iowa
Isbelia Arzola

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Program Consultant
State Department of Education
400 East 14th Street
GrimesState Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: 515-281-3954 | Fax: 515-326-5962
Isbelia.Arzola@iowa.gov
Website
Kansas
Sherry Bukovatz

Teacher of the Year Co-coordinator
State Department of Education
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson ST
Suite 102
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Phone: 785-296-2551 | Fax: 785-296-7933
sbukovatz@ksde.org
Website
Kansas
Denise Kahler

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinator
NULL
NULL
NULL, NULL NULL
Phone: NULL | Fax: NULL
dkahler@ksde.org
Kansas
Kathy Toelkes

Teacher of the Year Co-coordinator
Director, Communications & Rocognition Programs
State Department of Education
120 Southeast Tenth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
Phone: 785-296-4876 | Fax: 785-296-7933
ktoelkes@ksde.org
Website
Kentucky
Donna Melton

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Consultant
State Department of Education
500 Mero Street - 19th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-564-3421 | Fax: 502-564-6470
dmelton@kde.state.ky.us
Website
Louisiana
Joni Marionneaux Lacy

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Talent Project Director
Louisiana Department of Education
Office of Talent
1201 North 3rd Street
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-342-7695 | Fax: 225-342-3890
joni.lacy@la.gov
Website
Maine
Dolly Sullivan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Program Director
Educate Maine
15 Monument Squar
Suite 3E
Portland, ME 04101
Phone: 207-631-3385 | Fax: NULL
dolly@educatemaine.org
Website
Maryland
Darla Strouse

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Partnerships, Research & Development
State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-0369 | Fax: 410-333-2226
dstrouse@msde.state.md.us
Website
Massachusetts
Deborah Walker

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director, Educator Recognition Programs
State Department of Education
75 Pleasant Street
Malden, MA 02148
Phone: 781-338-3347 | Fax: 781-338-3396
djwalker@doe.mass.edu
Website
Michigan
Ann-Marie Mapes

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Technology Planning Coordinator and Communications Consultant
Michigan Department of Education
Box 30008
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-335-1275 | Fax: 517-335-4575
mapesa@michigan.gov
Website
Minnesota
Doug Dooher

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Minnesota
41 Sherburne Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55103-6969
Phone: 651-292-4816 | Fax: 651-292-4868
douglas.dooher@educationminnesota.org
Website
Mississippi
Daphne Buckley

Teacher of the Year Co-Coordinators
State Department of Education
Mississippi Teacher Center
Suite 145
359 Northwest Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: 601-359-3631 | Fax: 601-359-1728
dbuckley@mde.k12.ms.us
Website
Mississippi
Albert Carter

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office Director II, Office of Educator Quality
State Department of Education
Mississippi Department of Education
P. O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 392010771
Phone: 601-359-3631 | Fax: 601-359-1728
acarter@mde.k12.ms.us
Website
Missouri
Linda Dooling

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director of Educator Development
Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
Post Office Box 480
Jefferson State Office Building
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480
Phone: 573-526-6650 | Fax: 573-522-6526
linda.dooling@dese.mo.gov
Website
Montana
Donna Graveley

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Montana Education Association
1232 East Sixth Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: 406-442-4250 | Fax: 406-443-5081
DGraveley@mea-mft.org
Website
Nebraska
Lora Sypal

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
Post Office Box 94987
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
Phone: 402-471-5059 | Fax: 402-471-4433
lora.sypal@nebraska.gov
Website
Nevada
Kelee Dupuis

Teacher of the Year Program Coordinator
State Department of Education
9890 South Maryland Parkway
Second Floor
Las Vegas, NV 89183
Phone: NULL | Fax: NULL
kdupuis@doe.nv.gov
Website
New Hampshire
Lori Temple

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
State Office Park South
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-6646 | Fax: 603-271-3830
Lori.Temple@doe.nh.gov
Website
New Jersey
Nancy Besant

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Education Program Specialist
State Department of Education
P.O. Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
Phone: 609-984-6314 | Fax: 609-292-7276
nancy.besant@doe.state.nj.us
Website
New Mexico
Seana Flanagan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Assistant Director Education Quality
PED
300 Don Gaspar Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: 505-827-6503 | Fax: NULL
seana.flanagan@state.nm.us
Website
New Mexico
Deborah Williamson

NULL
Director, NMTEACH and Title II, PED
New Mexico Department of Education
300 Don Gaspar Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone: 505-827-6559 | Fax: NULL
deborah.williamson@state.nm.us
New York
Dawn Graham

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Associate, P-12 Office of Curriculum & Instruction
New York State Department of Education
89 Washington Avenue, 860 EBA
Albany, NY 12234
Phone: 518-474-5922 | Fax: NULL
toty@nysed.gov
Website
North Carolina
Yvette Stewart

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Assistant Director, Educator Effectiveness
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6330 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6330
Phone: 919-807-3375 | Fax: 919-807-3362
yvette.stewart@dpi.nc.gov
Website
North Dakota
Pat Laubach

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58501-0440
Phone: 701-328-4525 | Fax: 701-328-4770
plaubach@nd.gov
Website
Northern Mariana Islands
Lucretia Borja

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Department of Education
Post Office Box 1370
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: 670-237-3059 | Fax: 670-664-3798
lucretia.borja@cnmipss.org
Ohio
Angela Dicke

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Coordinator of Award Programs and Educators Rising Ohio
Ohio Department of Education
NULL
25 South Front Street
Columbus, OH 43215-4183
Phone: 614-644-7306 | Fax: 614-752-8406
Angela.Dicke@education.ohio.gov
Website
Oklahoma
Martha Eaves

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Events Coordinator, Administrative Services
State Department of Education
Hodge Education Building
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Room 1-12
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599
Phone: 405-522-8767 | Fax: NULL
Martha.eaves@sde.ok.gov
Website
Oregon
Jenni Knaus

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Communications, Office of the Deputy Superintendent
Oregon Department of Education
Public Service Building
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, OR 97310-0203
Phone: 503-947-5860 | Fax: NULL
jenni.knaus@state.or.us
Website
Pennsylvania
Karl Streckewald

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Pennsylvania Department of Education
Division of Planning | Bureau of Curriculum, Assessment & Instruction
333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Phone: 717-346-4369 | Fax: 717-783-3946
kstreckewa@pa.gov
Website
Puerto Rico
Waldo Vazquez

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Post Office Box 190759
San Juan, PR 00919-0759
Phone: 787-759-8531 | Fax: 787-753-1804
torresvw@de.gobierno.pr
Rhode Island
Mary Keenan

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Educator Quality & Certification Specialist
Rhode Island Department of Education
Office of Educator Quality
255 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 02903-3400
Phone: 401-222-8497 | Fax: NULL
Mary.Keenan@ride.ri.net
Website
South Carolina
Kali Noel

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Office of Educator Services
State Department of Education
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223
Phone: 803-896-0428 | Fax: 803-896-0395
knoel@ed.sc.gov
Website
South Dakota
Sherry Dickerson

SD Teacher of the Year Coordinator
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Phone: 605-773-2490 | Fax: NULL
Sherry.dickerson@state.sd.us
Website
Tennessee
Sylvia Flowers

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Executive Director, Educator Talent
Tennessee Department of Education
Andrew Johnson Tower, 12th Floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-253-6023 | Fax: NULL
sylvia.flowers@tn.gov
Website
Texas
Jennifer Garrido

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Texas Association of School Administrators
406 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: 512-477-6361 ext. 2116 | Fax: NULL
jgarrido@tasanet.org
Utah
Tina Morandy

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Utah State Board of Education
250 East 500 South
PO BOX 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84414-4200
Phone: 801-538-7526 | Fax: 801-538-7768
tina.morandy@schools.utah.gov
Website
Vermont
Rebecca Gile

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Agency of Education
219 North Main Street
Suite 402, Barre City Place
Barre, VT 05641
Phone: 802-479-1718 | Fax: 802-479-1718
rebecca.gile@vermont.gov
Website
Virgin Islands
Merlinda Philomene

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Virgin Islands Department of Education
Department of Education
1834 Kongens Gade
St. Thomas, VI 00802
Phone: 340-774-2810 | Fax: NULL
merlinda.philomene@sttj.k12.vi
Virginia
Joan Johnson

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Director of Teacher Education
Virginia Department of Education
Division of Teacher Education and Licensure
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
Phone: 804-371-2475 | Fax: 804-786-6759
joan.johnson@doe.virginia.gov
Website
Washington
Hilary Seidel

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
State Department of Public Instruction
Old Capitol Building
Post Office Box 47200
Olympia, WA 98516
Phone: 360-725-6117 | Fax: 360-586-0247
hilary.seidel@k12.wa.us
Website
West Virginia
Julian Woods

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Human Resources Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
Office of Human Resources
Building 6, Room 264
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
Phone: 304-558-2702 | Fax: 304-558-0216
julian.woods@k12.wv.us
Website
Wisconsin
JoAnn Miller

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Co-Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
State Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
Post Office Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Phone: 920-373-7935 | Fax: NULL
jmiller@cesa8.org
Wyoming
Tracy Stibitz

Teacher of the Year Coordinator
Standards and Accountability Division
Wyoming Department of Education
2301 Central Avenue
Barrett Building, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307-777-8979 | Fax: 307-777-6234
tracy.stibitz@wyo.gov