Print this Page


Learn More About the Assessment Consortia

Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) 
PARCC is a consortium of 23 states plus the U.S. Virgin Islands working together to develop a common set of K-12 assessments in English and math anchored in what it takes to be ready for college and careers. These new K-12 assessments will build a pathway to college and career readiness by the end of high school, mark students' progress toward this goal from 3rd grade up, and provide teachers with timely information to inform instruction and provide student support. The PARCC assessments will be ready for states to administer during the 2014-15 school year.

Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortia (Smarter Balanced)
Smarter Balanced is a state-led consortium working to develop next-generation assessments that accurately measure student progress toward college- and career-readiness. Smarter Balanced is developing an assessment system aligned to the CCSS by the 2014-15 school year. The states that are a member of the Smarter Balanced consortium are Alabama, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. 

National Center and State Collaborative Partnership (NCSC)
NCSC is building a comprehensive assessment system that includes project-developed products and processes to support educators as they plan for and provide appropriate instruction that addresses common standards. These supports will help Individualized Education Program teams accurately identify the learner characteristics of students with the most significant cognitive disabilities and make appropriate decisions about how each student participates in the overall system of assessments. The 19 state partners are: Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Pacific Assessment Consortium (PAC-6), Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee and Wyoming. 

Dynamic Learning Maps Alternate Assessment Consortia (DLM)
DLM s a group of 13 states dedicated to the development of an alternative assessment system. The DLM project is guided by the core belief that all students should have access to challenging grade-level content. The new DLM alternate assessment system will let students with significant cognitive disabilities show what they know in ways that traditional multiple-choice tests cannot.  The consortium includes the states of Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Assessment Services Supporting English Language Learners Through Technology Systems Consortium (ASSETS)
The ASSETS project was awarded an Enhanced Assessment Grant in fall 2011 for nearly $10.5 million over 4 years to build a comprehensive and balanced technology-based assessment system for English language learners. The assessment system will be anchored in WIDA's English Language Proficiency Standards that are aligned with the CCSS, will be informed by rigorous ongoing research, and supported by comprehensive professional development and outreach. WIDA will maintain its consortium approach to decision-making about the design and direction of the project and will involve the expertise of nationally renowned partners.

ELPA21 Consortium
ELPA 21 is a consortium of 11 states - Arkansas, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, Washington, and West Virginia - developing an assessment system designed to measure the performance of English language learners (ELLs) as they progress through their K-12 education and achieve college and career readiness. The consortium is collaborating with the Understanding Language Initiative of Stanford University; the National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing (CRESST) of the University of California, Los Angeles; the National Center on Educational Outcomes (NCEO) of the University of Minnesota; and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). The Oregon Department of Education is the lead state agency, and CCSSO is the project management partner.

Acknowledging the diverse and rich language experiences ELLs bring to school, the ELPA21 states recognize English language proficiency is constantly growing. The ELPA21 assessment system measures that growth based on the new English Language Proficiency (ELP) Standards and provides valuable information that informs instruction and facilitates academic English proficiency so that all ELLs leave high school prepared for college and career success. The ELP Standards correspond to states' rigorous content standards in English language arts, mathematics, and science. ELPA21 measures overall English language proficiency, as well as proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and comprehension. The major deliverables of ELPA21 are a screener and a summative assessment. The screener will be developed for each of six grade bands and will allow schools to assess baseline English language proficiency of incoming ELLs. It will be used to inform placement and make instructional decisions. The summative assessment will include two fixed forms per grade band. This assessment will be administered near the end of the academic year.

The assessment system will be online and will incorporate technology-enhanced items that allow students to indicate their responses in ways other than traditional item types do (e.g., multiple choice items). The assessment system will include more interactive item styles, especially for speaking and listening tests; reduce turnaround time on reporting results; improve efficiency of data collection and management; increase security of test content and student data; and reduce administrative burdens on school and district staff.