Print this Page

Press Release

Tuesday, April 07, 2015

Senators Announce ‘Excellent Bipartisan Bill’

Contact:Melissa McGrathmelissa.mcgrath@ccsso.org202-336-7034

Washington, D.C. (April 7, 2014) - Today, U.S. Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee Chairman Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Ranking Member Senator Patty Murray (D-Wash.) announced the Every Child Achieves Act of 2015 to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Act.

Chris Minnich, Executive Director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), said the following:

"Chairman Alexander and Senator Murray have created an excellent bipartisan bill that gives the Senate a strong starting point for the long overdue reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. The Every Child Achieves Act of 2015 is aligned with the key priorities that State Chiefs outlined in January, and will provide our states with the long-term stable federal policy they need to continue making progress for all students."

In early January, the CCSSO Board of Directors outlined key priorities for ESEA Reauthorization.  

The U.S. Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee has scheduled a markup of the bill for Tuesday, April 14. Read more about the Every Child Achieves Act of 2015.


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.