Print this Page

Press Release

Wednesday, September 09, 2015

New Hampshire Chief Joins CCSSO Board of Directors

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (September 9, 2015) -- The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) today announced New Hampshire Commissioner of Education Virginia Barry will join its 2014-2015 Board of Directors.

CCSSO's Board of Directors manages the overall business affairs of the Council and is the governing body of the organization. The board is composed of the president, the president-elect, the past president, and six directors elected by CCSSO members.

"New Hampshire, under Virginia Barry's direction, is a leader in the nation at showing what accountability systems of the future could look like. Her commitment to delivering a higher quality education for children is exemplary. We are honored to have her join our Board of Directors," said Chris Minnich, executive director of CCSSO.

Virginia Barry was sworn in as Commissioner of Education on June 1, 2009, and re-appointed in 2013. Dr. Barry has more than three decades of experience as a teacher, leader, tenured university professor, and provost and vice president for academic affairs. Her teaching interests are embedded in the principles of human development and educational leadership.

Barry received her B.S. from Florida State University and M.S. from Queens College City University of New York and State University of New York at Stony Brook. She received her Ph.D. from Florida State University with post-doctoral studies at New York University, Harvard and William and Mary.

Here is a full list of CCSSO's 2014-2015 Board of Directors:

  *   President: June Atkinson (NC)
  *   Thomas Bice (AL)
  *   Virginia Barry (NH)
  *   Brenda Cassellius (MN)
  *   Mitchell Chester (MA)
  *   Randy Dorn (WA)
  *   Tony Evers (WI)
  *   Lillian Lowery (MD)
  *   Hanna Skandera (NM)