Print this Page

News Brief

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Media Availability: 2012 National Teacher of the Year Available for Interviews Monday, April 23, 2012, 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm ET

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) will host a media availability with the 2012 National Teacher of the Year Monday April 23, 1:00 pm ­- 2:30 pm ET. The 2012 National Teacher of the Year will be announced Monday, April 23. 

Media Availability with 2012 National Teacher of the Year:

WHO:               2012 National Teacher of the Year 

WHAT:             Media availability 
WHEN:            1:00 pm - 2:30 pm ET April 23, 2012
WHERE:          Reporters interested in scheduling an interview should contact Kate Dando ( or 202-336-7034) or Paul Ferrari ( or 202-312-6870). 

The four finalists for 2012 National Teacher of the Year are listed below. Additional information on each finalist, including quotes, can be found here.

Gay Barnes-2012 Alabama Teacher of the Year

Barnes is a first grade teacher in the suburban area of Madison, Alabama. She has taught at Horizon Elementary School for seven years, and has 21 total years of teaching experience.

Alvin Aureliano Davis-2012 Florida Teacher of the Year

Davis is a music teacher at Miramar High School in Miramar, Florida. He has taught a total of 11 years, the last eight at Miramar, a school of 2,760 students.

Rebecca Lynn Mieliwocki-2012 California Teacher of the Year

Mieliwocki is a seventh grade English teacher at Luther Burbank Middle School, which houses 1100 students. She has been teaching for 14 years and has spent 9 years in her current position.

Angela Wilson-2012 Department of Defense Education Activity Teacher of the Year

Wilson is a seventh grade Language Arts and Forensics teacher at Vicenza Middle School in Italy. She has 11 years of teaching experience and has been in her current position for 2 years.

A panel of educators, representing 15 national education organizations, chose the finalists from the 2011 state teachers of the year in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and four U.S. extra-state jurisdictions.  The organizations represented on the 2012 National Selection Committee are: American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, American Association of School Administrators, American Federation of Teachers, Association for Childhood Education International, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, Association of Teacher Educators, National Association for the Education of Young Children, National Association of Elementary School Principals, National Association of Secondary School Principals,  National Association of State Boards of Education, National Congress of Parents and Teachers, National Education Association, National Middle Schools Association, and National School Public Relations Association.

President Barack Obama will honor the 2012 National Teacher of the Year and all of the State Teachers of the Year in a Rose Garden Ceremony April 24.



The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.