Print this Page

Press Release

Eight States Receive Approval to Continue Accountability Systems

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (June 23, 2015) - The U.S. Department of Education announced today it has approved eight additional states to receive multi-year renewals for flexibility from the provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB). The Department announced in March 2015 that it had approved five states for four-year renewals.

Chris Minnich, executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers, said: "Until the Elementary and Secondary Education Act is reauthorized, we are pleased the U.S. Department of Education is acting quickly to give states the continued flexibility they need to move forward with state-developed accountability systems. These systems have allowed many states to take the lead in narrowing achievement gaps and make sure every child graduates prepared for college, careers and life. Ultimately, we hope Congress will take action this year to make this type of flexibility permanent for our schools and students."

The eight states approved today are Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Missouri, Nevada, New York, West Virginia and the District of Columbia.

For more information on ESEA Flexibility Waivers, visit CCSSO's Accountability page


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.