Print this Page

Press Release

Thursday, September 21, 2017

CCSSO to Host Discussion on How States Are Leading in the Age of ESSA

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (September 21, 2017) - The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced it is hosting a panel discussion on Monday, October 2 on how state chiefs are leading under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). 

Most states have submitted plans to the U.S. Department of Education outlining how they will implement ESSA. On Monday, October 2, four state chiefs will share how they plan to leverage the new federal law to improve outcomes for all students in a panel discussion, titled States Leading in the Age of ESSA. Each state chief will discuss how they plan to take advantage of the new flexibility in the new law and the challenges they are facing in implementation.

CCSSO executive director Chris Minnich will moderate a discussion with four state chiefs: 

  • Kirsten Baesler, State Superintendent of Education, North Dakota
  • Pedro Rivera, Secretary of Education, Pennsylvania
  • Dianna Wentzell, Commissioner of Education, Connecticut
  • John White, State Superintendent of Education, Louisiana

The discussion will be held 2:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Monday, October 2, 2017 in the Hart Senate Office Building, Room 216. 

For more information, please download the invitation

If you plan to attend the event, please RSVP to Jessah Walker.  If you are a member of the media, please contact Olympia Meola

# # # 

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.