Print this Page

Press Release


CCSSO Welcomes New President and Board of Directors

Contact:Melissa McGrathmelissa.mcgrath@ccsso.org202-336-7034

Washington, DC, November 24, 2010 - The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced today the 2010-2011 CCSSO Board of Directors and Deputies Leadership Commission members. All board members and officers are chief state school officers and continue their tenures in their respective states while serving on CCSSO's board.

"Our new leadership has a deep commitment to advancing the education reform agenda outlined by states," said Executive Director Gene Wilhoit. "During a time of incredible transition across the country chief state school officers are dedicated to providing the leadership necessary to reshape American public education."

CCSSO Board of Directors
President: Christopher Koch, Superintendent of Education, Illinois
President-Elect: Thomas Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho
President Pro-Tempore: Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
Larry Shumway, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Utah
Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
Deborah Delisle, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
David Steiner, Commissioner of Education, New York
Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Education, Massachusetts
June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina

CCSSO Deputies Leadership Commission
Tommy Bice, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Alabama
Ollie Tyler, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Louisiana
Kevin Fangman, Acting Director of Education, Iowa
Rae Ann Knopf, Deputy Commissioner, Vermont
Marilyn Troyer, Deputy Superintendent, Ohio
Gloria Dopf, Deputy Superintendent of Instruction, Nevada
Melody Schopp, Deputy Secretary of Education, South Dakota
Susie Morrison, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Illinois
Paul Leather, Deputy Commissioner, New Hampshire
Jorea Marple, Deputy Superintendent, West Virginia Ex-officio