Print this Page

News Brief


CCSSO Welcomes 2014 President and Board of Directors

Contact:Melissa McGrathmelissa.mcgrath@ccsso.org202-336-7034

Richmond, VA - The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) announced today the 2013-2014 CCSSO Board of Directors. Elections took place during the 2013 Annual Policy Forum and Business Meeting in Richmond. Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education in Kentucky assumed the role of CCSSO president and June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction in North Carolina was named president-elect.

CCSSO Board of Directors
President: Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
President-Elect: June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina
Board Members:
John Barge, State School Superintendent, Georgia
Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner of Education, Minnesota
Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education, Massachusetts (past President)
Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
Deborah Gist, Commissioner of Education, Rhode Island
Kevin Huffman, Commissioner of Education, Tennessee
Pat Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia