Print this Page

Press Release

Thursday, August 31, 2017

CCSSO Releases Statement on Approval of Maine and Vermont ESSA Plans

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (August 31, 2017) -- The U.S. Department of Education today announced that two states - Maine and Vermont-- received approval on their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The Department has now approved plans for 11 states and the District of Columbia.

"Congratulations to Maine and Vermont on the approval of their state plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act," said Carissa Miller, deputy executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). "These plans are designed to ensure every student receives an equitable education, and timely approval by the U.S. Department of Education means states can begin the important work of implementation."


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.