Print this Page

Press Release

Tuesday, February 03, 2015

CCSSO 'Pleased' to See Chiefs' Priorities Reflected in Chairman Kline's Bill

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (February 3, 2015) - House Education and the Workforce Chairman John Kline (R-MN) and Early Childhood, Elementary, and Secondary Education Subcommittee Chairman Todd Rokita (R-IN) today introduced legislation to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA).

Chris Minnich, executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), submitted a letter to Chairman Kline today, offering support for the legislation.

"We are pleased that your bill is aligned with Key Priorities for Reauthorization of ESEA that the Council of Chief State School Officers published and sent to you in early January," Minnich wrote. "State education leaders appreciate that the core assessment and accountability provisions would support the education reforms that states are currently implementing, while allowing educators to move past existing barriers to effective education reforms. Chiefs understand they are responsible for the efficient and appropriate use of tax dollars, and are not opposed to being held accountable by Congress for using federal education funds effectively to improve student achievement."

Read the full text of the letter.

The legislation is based on a proposal passed by the House in 2013, called the Student Success Act.


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.