Print this Page

Press Release

Thursday, July 30, 2015

CCSSO Commends Latest Action on ESEA

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (July 30, 2015) - The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) today commended Chairman Lamar Alexander and Sen. Patty Murray and Chairman John Kline and Rep. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott for quickly moving to advance reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. 

"Since No Child Left Behind expired, state chiefs have urged Congress to update ESEA to better meet the needs of all students," said Chris Minnich, executive director of CCSSO. "I am encouraged by the progress Congress has made so far this year, and I am grateful to Chairman Alexander, Senator Murray, Chairman Kline and Representative Scott for their leadership on this critical legislation. Going forward, I am confident that the bipartisan conference committee will work in good faith and reach agreement on legislation that will help educators nationwide better serve our students."  


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. CCSSO provides leadership, advocacy, and technical assistance on major educational issues. The Council seeks member consensus on major educational issues and expresses their views to civic and professional organizations, federal agencies, Congress, and the public.