Print this Page

Press Release

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Five States Receive Approval to Continue Accountability Systems

Contact:Olympia Meolaolympia.meola@ccsso.org202-336-7071

Washington, D.C. (March 31, 2015) -- The U.S. Department of Education announced today it has approved five states to receive four-year renewals for flexibility from the provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB). 

Chris Minnich, Executive Director of the Council of Chief State School Officers, said the following:

"Today, I am pleased five states have already received approval to move forward with the accountability systems they have created, in working with their local stakeholders, to improve achievement for all kids and make sure every child graduates prepared for college, careers and life. The systems in place today in Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina, and Virginia have helped to narrow achievement gaps and increase graduation rates, and I applaud the U.S. Department of Education for approving these states' waiver renewals through a quick, straightforward process.

"Still, while I applaud this ongoing flexibility for our states, I also recognize that these are waivers and not a long-term solution for our states. State Chiefs continue to urge Congress and the President to reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary Education Act to provide states with the stable federal policy they need to make sure these state-developed accountability systems endure in the future."

For more information, visit CCSSO's Accountability page.