Print this Page

News Brief


Final Version of Common Arts Standards Released

Education Week (06/06/14) Heitin, Liana

The National Coalition for Core Arts Standards (NCCAS) has released the final version of its voluntary national preK-12 standards in dance, media arts, music, theater, and visual arts. The standards emphasize four artistic processes -- creating, performing, responding, and connecting -- in each arts discipline. James Palmarini, director of educational policy for the Educational Theatre Association and a member of the NCCAS leadership, expects nearly every state in the country to adopt the standards, which are designed to enable teachers to create their own customized handbooks based on the grade levels and subjects taught. The standards also are expected to complement the Common Core State Standards in English/language arts and math and are more robust than the previous standards, Palmarini says. NCCAS plans to pilot assessments in the fall and will add examples of student work on its new website.
To read the full article, click here 

This news brief was summarized for Chiefline, CCSSO's weekly newsletter. Click here to receive Chiefline in your inbox weekly. Newsbrief Copyright 2014 INFORMATION, INC