Print this Page

News Brief


12 NCLB-Waiver States Want Extra Year for Full Teacher-Evaluation Rollout

Education Week (11/26/13) McNeil, Michele

About 12 states have applied for a one-year delay in the roll out of new teacher-evaluation systems under their No Child Left Behind waivers, and 15 states have asked the U.S. Department of Education for a special waiver so they can give fewer tests to students. Maryland, Kentucky, North Carolina, Arkansas, Kansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, and Washington are seeking a one-year delay to create teacher-evaluation systems tied to teacher personnel decisions, which would ensure states implement the new systems in the 2016-17 school year. The states seeking double-testing waivers to suspend some current tests and only give field tests from the Common Core testing consortia are: California, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Vermont, and Washington. Six states are seeking both waivers.
To read the full article, click here 

This news brief was summarized for Chiefline, CCSSO's weekly newsletter. Click here to receive Chiefline in your inbox weekly. Newsbrief Copyright 2012 INFORMATION, INC